Welcome to the married life..

I’m newly married, as in today is three weeks since I said my ‘I do’s.’ I cannot even count the number of times people have told me ‘welcome to the married life.’ I feel like I am checking into a hotel, turning my life over to someone, and calling it a day. But why? Why are these people telling me ‘that’s part of being married’ so miserable in their own marriage, they in turn want mine to be also.

I keep questioning what makes marriage have a black cloud over it.. maybe the huge money pit wedding, or in laws, or just being with one person for eternity.

I eloped, I love my mother in law (and get along with her!) And fancy the thought of having one person to call mine forever. My husband and I are growing up in the generation of the 16 and pregnants, so the idea of a perfect fairytale ending fascinates me.

Will it be perfect, no, but to me and him it is pure perfection. It will be hard, make us question our sanity at times, but if we always remember what made us love each other in the first part this will work. We have to enjoy the little things, learn to laugh at our flaws, and be each other’s biggest supporters.

I look at these people and wish I was a fly on the wall. What made you bitter about marriage? What was that point in your life you would rather settle then be happy?

I’m not perfect, my life is not, my marriage isn’t. This is how I deal, how I plan to make it through my 20’s, and how I plan to grow. Welcome to this crazy train called the middle class housewifes journey into crazy town. I will be real, I will pour my feelings out, I will be unconventional, but most of all I’ll be me. And that’s all I ever want to be.

Sincerely,
The middle class housewife

Leave a Reply

